Suffolk Coast Walks 2

Just to update the previous post – Nick Marsh, countryside officer at Suffolk Coast and Heaths AONB, went on BBC Radio Suffolk a couple of days ago to talk about my new Cicerone guide and the walking potential that the Suffolk coastal region offers. You can listen again here (fast-forward to around 2:37). It is available online until March 5.

About East of Elveden

Hidden places, secret histories and unsung geography from the east of England and beyond
This entry was posted in Suffolk, Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Suffolk Coast Walks 2

  1. elaine plumb says:

    looking at the stour and orwell walk is the section 3 from the orwell bridge to pin mill really 10 miles long? it doesn’t look it on the map

    • I’m sorry I cannot answer that confidently at the moment as I am in Kyrgyzstan (!) without my Suffolk book or maps. It does meander quite a bit and it might well be 10 miles from the northern side of the bridge. I will be able to give you a better answer when I get home in early July.
      All the best, Laurence

      • Back at home now and checking the book. I agree – it is unlikely to be 10 miles. This, I think, is a typo and the distance is more likely to be 10 kilometres. Thank you for pointing this out.

      • elaine plumb says:

        Many thanks for getting back to me, I hope you had a great trip. That seems more realistic; I did wonder if it was 10 including the optional Ipswich Loop shown at the end of the previous section, but either way it gives me a better idea to break down into realistic stages (we have followed the first stage as far as Levenden Marina having previously done ‘the loop’ and bridge W to E as a circular; looking forward to views on return) and after completion hope to start The Sandlings in the Autumn (walked in sections on Sundays when all 6 of us are available).

  2. I do hope you enjoy The Sandlings Walk when you do it in the autumn – it will give you a different perspective on Suffolk seen a little way inland from the coast.

Leave a Reply

