Lake Baikal

Listvankya on the northern shore of Lake Baikal in east Siberia is a small fishing village and port that also serves as a holiday destination for Russians in the short Siberian summer. By late September summer is definitely over and there was a melancholy end-of-season feel about the place when I visited in 2010. It was also surprisingly cold and the fact that Lake Baikal freezes so solidly in winter that you can drive trucks over it seemed perfectly believable.

This was the furthest east I got on that trip, having arrived in the nearby city of Irkutsk on the Trans-Siberian railway from Moscow. The Russian tourists had all left Listvyanka by the time I arrived and apart from a few fishermen, a handful of locals and a large population of ravens I had the place very much to myself.

About East of Elveden

Hidden places, secret histories and unsung geography from the east of England and beyond
This entry was posted in Asia, Russia, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lake Baikal

  1. Wonderful, I would love to visit Siberia such a vast land, both cruel and beautiful, all that history and landscape…

  2. dianajhale says:

    Great to see these images and read your comments. It does epitomise the end of the world and as out of season seaside resorts go (another obsession of mine) this is hard to beat!
    I read several books set in Siberia earlier in the year and still have several more not yet read. It has always fascinated me – ever since The Big Red Train Ride came out in the 70’s!

  3. Thank you both for your comments. I think that I am still digesting my time in Siberia. It is such a vast place, with scenery that changes very gradually as you progress by train. Eastern Siberia is certainly more beautiful than the western part. The north is endless tundra – at least I assume so, as I didn’t get there.
    I think the best book on the region is that by Colin Thubron, although it is pretty gloomy. There again, Siberia does gloom rather well.

Leave a Reply

